Home » General » Public Decides Which Judges Stay or Go

Public Decides Which Judges Stay or Go

Sedona AZ (February 26, 2012) – The Arizona Commission on Judicial Performance Review will hold public hearings at the following times and locations to take comments from the public about the judges on the 2012 Retention Election Ballot:

March 7, 2012 – Phoenix  4:30 to 5:30 p.m.  Arizona State Courts Building, 1501 W. Washington Street, Conference Rm 345

March 14, 2012 – Tucson  4:30 to 5:30 p.m.  West Side Police Service Center, 1310 West Miracle Mile, Rillito Room 

March 21, 2012 – Florence  4:30 to 5:30 p.m.  Pinal County Justice Center, 971 Jason Lopez Circle, Bldg A

Established in 1992 by a Constitutional amendment passed by voters, the 30-member Commission is charged with conducting performance reviews of judges. It sets performance standards for judges, decides whether or not a judge meets those standards, and publishes its findings for voters.

In addition to holding the public hearings, the Commission surveyed litigants, witnesses, jurors, people who represented themselves in court, staff and attorneys who appeared before Superior Court judges from August 29 through December 30, 2011. Surveys on Appellate Court justices and judges are distributed throughout their terms.

More than 57,000 surveys on Arizona judges were distributed in 2011. 

The Commission’s findings will be released to the public before the 2012 General Election in the Secretary of State’s Voter Pamphlet. The findings will also be available on the Commission’s website at www.azjudges.info.

Voters will decide whether judges remain in office on November 6, 2012. 

Any citizen may appear at a public hearing or send written comments by April 15, 2012 to the Commission on Judicial Performance Review, 1501 West Washington, Suite 221, Phoenix, AZ 85007-3231. Comments can also be sent through the Commission’s web page at www.azjudges.info.

Comments are invited on the following judges:

Arizona Supreme Court: 
  • Andrew D. Hurwitz
  • A John Pelander III

Court of Appeals, Division I:

  • Margaret H. Downie
  • Donn G. Kessler
  • Patricia K. Norris
  • Maurice Portley
  • Peter Swann
Court of Appeals, Division II:
  • Peter J. Eckerstrom
  • Philip G. Espinosa
  • Joseph W. Howard
  • Virginia Kelly

Superior Court in Maricopa County:

  • Helene F. Abrams
  • Eddward P. Ballinger
  • James P. Beene
  • A. Craig Blakey, II
  • Susan M. Brnovich
  • John A. Buttrick
  • Bruce R. Cohen
  • Connie Contes
  • Christopher A. Coury
  • Glenn Davis
  • John R. Ditsworth
  • Lisa Daniel Flores
  • Jeanne M. Garcia
  • David B. Gass
  • Pamela Gates
  • Jo Lynn Gentry-Lewis
  • Douglas Gerlach
  • Michael D. Gordon
  • John R. Hannah, Jr.
  • Cari A. Harrison
  • Kristin Hoffman
  • Michael W. Kemp
  • Daniel J. Kiley
  • Andrew G. Klein
  • Thomas L. LeClaire
  • Margaret R. Mahoney
  • Crane McClennen
  • M. Scott McCoy
  • Paul J. McMurdie
  • Colleen A. McNally
  • Michael R. McVey
  • Linda H. Miles
  • Robert E. Miles
  • Robert H. Oberbillig
  • Jose S. Padilla
  • David J. Palmer
  • Karen A. Potts
  • Timothy J. Ryan
  • Teresa A. Sanders
  • Roland J. Steinle, III
  • Sherry K. Stephens
  • Peter A. Thompson
  • David K. Udall
  • Christopher T. Whitten

Superior Court in Pima County:

  • Karen S. Adam
  • Gus Aragón
  • Deborah Bernini
  • Kyle A. Bryson
  • Carmine Cornelio
  • Jane L. Eikleberry
  • Richard S. Fields
  • Richard Gordon
  • Howard Hantman
  • Jan E. Kearney
  • Kenneth Lee
  • John S. Leonardo
  • Leslie B. Miller
  • Michael Miller
  • Clark W. Munger
  • Scott H. Rash
  • Sarah R. Simmons
  • Christopher P. Staring
  • Paul E. Tang
  • Stephen C. Villarreal

Superior Court in Pinal County:

  • J. Rudy Georgini
  • Boyd T. Johnson
  • Stephen F. McCarville
  • Robert Carter Olson
  • Janna L. Vanderpool


For the best in Sedona news and views, read SedonaEye.com daily! Reach 4000+ subscribers with your ads and articles! We are growing daily!

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2008-2017 · Sedona Eye · All Rights Reserved · Posts · Comments · Facebook · Twitter ·