Home » General » Yavapai County Fire Ban Notice

Yavapai County Fire Ban Notice

sedona fire district red flag warningSedona AZ (June 13, 2016)In accordance with Yavapai County Ordinance No. 2012-1, Section V, the Yavapai County Emergency Management Officer has determined that a fire emergency exists in Yavapai County, Arizona.

Board of Supervisor Chairman, Jack Smith, has signed an interim order to enact a fire ban within Yavapai County. This determination is based upon the implementation of fire restrictions by the following jurisdictions: Prescott National Forest, BLM, Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management, Groom Creek Fire District, Central Arizona Fire and Medical Authority, Prescott Fire Department, Mayer Fire District, Crown King Fire District, Black Canyon City Fire District, Chino Valley Fire District, Walker Fire Department, Southern Yavapai Fire District, Yarnell Fire District, Congress Fire District, Wickenburg Rural Fire District, Seligman Fire District, Camp Verde Fire District, Montezuma Rimrock Fire District, Williamson Valley and Bagdad Fire District which will impose these restrictions on June 15 at 8:00 in the morning.

The restrictions are due to recent wild land fires in the area, a high Energy Release Component (ERC), low fuel moisture levels, and low relative humidity levels which have resulted in a high risk potential for large fire events.

The fire ban covers the unincorporated areas of the County. Each fire department or district has the authority to apply fire restrictions for respective jurisdictions. Please check with your local fire jurisdiction for more information.

The county ban prohibits all open fires and campfires. Other types of outdoor fires banned are those that produce open flames such as tiki lamps with oil. Fireworks and other pyrotechnic displays are expressly prohibited.

The ban also prohibits the outdoor use of equipment that generates open flames or a spark which restricts the use of welding equipment and chain saws. Variances for businesses can be requested.

The determination includes the following Fire Ban Zones: All of Yavapai County to include the Central Zone, Southern Zone, Northern Zone, and Eastern Zone.

Yavapai County fire ban information can be obtained at www.regionalinfo-alert.org or www.facebook.com/YCOEM. Know before you go – for current information on fire restrictions, closures or wildfires on the Prescott National Forest. Check current fire information and restrictions at www.wildlandfire.AZ.gov or at www.firerestrictions.us or call 1-877-864-6985.

It’s Too Late, When Told To Evacuate! For more information about being prepared, contact 928-771-3321.

Read www.SedonaEye.com for daily news and interactive views!

Read www.SedonaEye.com for daily news and interactive views!

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2008-2017 · Sedona Eye · All Rights Reserved · Posts · Comments · Facebook · Twitter ·