Home » Community » Deadline for AZ Property Tax Exemptions Looms, Applications Down

Deadline for AZ Property Tax Exemptions Looms, Applications Down

Deadline for Arizona Property Tax Exemptions Looms, Applications Down

Widows, widowers and disabled individuals who meet certain income requirements can qualify for an exemption from property tax on their primary residence. 

State statute spells out the period of time that the Assessor may accept applications for the exemption.  The filing deadline for 2010 is March 1.

 “We know that folks need a break and this is one break worth taking advantage of, if you qualify,” a Pinal County official said.  “People also should be aware that there is a mandatory annual re-application requirement.  If you fail to re-apply before March 1 or if you no longer meet the statutory guidelines, your property will be taxed again.”

All first time applicants must apply in person.  If you have applied in the past you can re-apply by mail accompanied by a Notary Public’s signature and stamp.  For more information, please call (888) 431-1311.

 Requirements for Widow and Widower’s Exemption

To file for the property exemptions you must present the following documents to the Assessor’s representative:

• Must be a permanent resident of Arizona
• Must have resided with their spouse in Arizona at the time of the spouse’s death or if their spouse died while a resident of another state, then the surviving spouse must have come to Arizona before January 1, 1969
• Must present the death certificate of the deceased spouse to the Assessor
• Must not have property value (within the State of Arizona) that exceeds a net assessed value of $23,413. Net assessed value can be found on your tax notice or Notice of Valuation card
• Must file an application each year between first Monday in January and through last day of February
• Must be able to state that either item A or B below is true:

A  None of my children under 18 years of age resided with me during the previous calendar year.  The total income from all sources including myself, my spouse, and any children aged 18 or more who resided with me, did not exceed $28,713 during the previous calendar year.
B  At least one of my children who was under 18 years of age OR who was totally and permanently disabled, resided with me during the previous calendar year.  The total income from all sources including myself, my spouse, and any other of my children, resided with me, did not exceed $34,455 during the previous calendar year.

Requirements for Disabled Person’s Exemption

• Must be a permanent resident of Arizona
• Must be over the age of 17
• Must be medically certified as 100 percent and permanently disabled by your doctor (The Assessor’s Office will supply the necessary medical forms)
• Must not have property value (within the State of Arizona) that exceeds a net assessed value of $23,413. Net assessed value can be found on your tax notice or Notice of Valuation Card
• Must file an application each year between first Monday in January and through last day of February
• Must be able to state that either item A or B below is true:
A  None of my children under 18 years of age resided with me during the previous calendar year.  The total income from all sources including myself, my spouse, and any children aged 18 or more who resided with me, did not exceed $28,713 during the previous calendar year.
B  At least one of my children who was under 18 years of age OR who was totally and permanently disabled, resided with me during the previous calendar year.  The total income from all sources including myself, my spouse, and any other of my children, resided with me, did not exceed $34,455 during the previous calendar year.

To file for the property exemptions you must present the following documents to the Assessor’s representative:

• Copy of spouse’s death certificate. If the spouse died out of state, the applicant must prove residency in Arizona prior to January 1, 1969 (Widow or Widower’s Exemption)
• Medical Certificate from an Arizona licensed physician – forms will be available (Disabled Person’s Exemption)
• 2009 Arizona State Income Tax Return
• Copy of the prior year’s tax bill or valuation card of all properties in Arizona
• License plate numbers for all motor vehicles
• Title/Tax bill
• Arizona Driver’s License or Arizona Identification

1 Comment

  1. My husband passed away on 11/1/2012 and i needed to know if i would qualify for a tax exemption. i am still making a house payment and i am the sole survivor. what do i need to do. thanks for any help that you can give me.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2008-2014 · Sedona Eye · All Rights Reserved · Posts · Comments · Facebook · Twitter ·